Doctor of Philosophy

The Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) is the highest research degree awarded by ANU and typically involves 3 to 3.5 years of original, full-time research. Fenner PhD students are supervised by a panel of three or more experts from the School, other ANU centres of excellence, and organisations like CSIRO, other research centres, and government departments. 

The PhD thesis which reports on your research may be in the traditional, unified format, or may be compiled from papers written during your candidature and aimed at publication, following this guideline.  In either case your thesis will be examined by a panel of independent, typically Australian and overseas examiners.

For more information on the PhD program and how to apply please visit the 'How to apply' section on this site or the ANU Student gateway website.

Updated:  23 July 2018/Responsible Officer:  Director Fenner School/Page Contact:  Webmaster Fenner School